The “oink … oink” Scene

“Determination” is my wife’s harsh incantation on obstruction that might get in a way for me to finish a household chore. Her enunciation of each letters of the word “DETERMINATION” comes in with an expressions of one who have just have taken a cough medicine called “Buckleys” that can disfigure a face. Once my wife spelled out “determination”, watch out, because delaying or stopping means “extermination”.

“Determination” to my wife, means don’t dilly-dally the lawn mowing, the vacuuming, or the mopping. It has to get done, now! Anything short, “determination” is “extermination”.

Extermination means – my ass wouldn’t get the peace it deserves while I am in front of my laptop. Or I couldn’t watch TV or DVD’s, or read book or newspaper, or worse I wouldn’t have my meal. She would eat by herself, she is not going to invite me, because she knew if I eat before I get the job done, I would get lazy, and she would scratch her belly, performing the “oink…oink” scene, so that I would be reminded of a pig that would lied down after a heavy meal. Not only she would have made me a political prisoner, but also would force me to go on hunger strike. She want me get exterminated!

So that has been my great motivation to get the chore done. Determination: My wife’s determination.

I could not blame my wife for being such a tight guard. If you don’t keep an eye on me, I have this unusual ability to stall, dodge, delay, or abandon entirely a household chore. My creativity to invent excuses is exhaustive. And it only ends, when really; really, my wife’s big eyes going to bulge out of its sockets in exasperation. That’s the only time out of compunction or guilt – I will get the chore done. Chore to me is like wiping your own shit. I don’t want to deal with it, if I can, especially if you’re using a “tabo”, instead of toilet paper.

One time I gave my wife her own dose of medicine of her “determination” thing.

This movie “Social Network” is available free in Shaw’s Video on Demand. Every time I watch it, there’s always something that get in the way that I wouldn’t be able to finish it. Determined to finish it, I decided to watch it again while in the midst of mopping.

I switched on our TV, and ordered the movie. My wife knew what’s going on – only waiting for her explosion. I’ll be the one to use her “determination” technique, this time.

Before she explodes, I enunciated my own version of “Determination” ghastlier than her. I tried with might to bulge out my Japanese eyes from its tiny sockets. And the strained effort I employed made my wife see the whole “Exorcist” movie in my face. She let me finished the “Social Network” … my mopping can wait. “Determination” worked in reverse. 

I am passionate about writing since I was 18 years old. Slowly, through the years, though sidetracks by other endeavors, my passion never wanes. My writing showed some progress, not as much in pecuniary form, but in psychic income. My writing started to have fruition when my opinion pieces, essays, short stories, ghost-writing graced in different publications. With the advent of ¨Blogs¨ of today’s technology, my writing made a leapfrog.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in humor
One comment on “The “oink … oink” Scene
  1. jfernando1 says:

    Thanks for your comments. It’s been a while that I haven’t been active on blogging. And now that I am, I was sorry, I wasn’t able to reply. I promise, I’ll be more active this time around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

